Convert Your Previous Captures

Convert your captures from previous versions of Snagit to view and edit in Snagit 2022 or to share across platforms.

tutorial

In this tutorial:

The SNAGX File Format

Snagit 2022 introduces the SNAGX file format. Unlike the previous SNAG format (Windows) and SNAGPROJ format (Mac), SNAGX files can be shared between Windows and Mac platforms.

  • Windows: You must convert previous captures to SNAGX files before they are available to edit or view in Snagit 2022 for Windows. See Convert Captures When Prompted (Windows).
  • Mac:
    • You can view and edit both SNAGPROJ and SNAGX files in Snagit 2022.
    • To view SNAGPROJ files in Windows, you must convert them to SNAGX. See Convert Captures On Demand.

Convert Captures when Prompted (Windows)

When you open the Library for the first time in Snagit 2022 for Windows, it does not display SNAG files from previous versions of Snagit. Snagit prompts you to convert your previous captures.
Convert Captures banner

  • Conversion can take several minutes depending on the size of your Library.
  • Snagit is unavailable to use during conversion.
  • Snagit saves backup copies in the old file format to use in previous versions of Snagit.
IMPORTANT
Ensure you have sufficient disk space. Conversion requires approximately twice the disk space as your current Library. To check the size of your Library:

1. In the search box in your Windows taskbar, enter DataStore and select Open file location.
2. Right-click the DataStore folder and select Properties.
  1. Click Convert Captures Now to start the conversion.
  2. Snagit displays a message when file conversion is complete. Click X to dismiss the message.
    Conversion Complete message

Note: File counts before and after conversion may differ. Previous versions count any files opened by Snagit, including those stored in other locations on your computer. Snagit 2022 does not include these files in the conversion.

Convert Captures on Demand

Windows

If you selected Ignore and Do Not Convert when prompted, you can convert SNAG files to SNAGX at a later time.

  1. In Snagit Editor, select Edit menu > Editor Preferences > Library tab.
  2. Click to select the Show prompt to convert and access past captures option.
    Preference to show conversion prompt
  3. Click OK.
  4. The message to convert captures displays in the Snagit Library. Click Convert Captures Now.
    Convert Captures banner
  5. Snagit displays a message when file conversion is complete. Click X to dismiss the message.

Mac

To view and edit SNAGPROJ files in Windows, convert them to SNAGX.

  1. In the Snagit Library, Command+click to select multiple files.
  2. Control+click and select the Convert Files to SNAGX option.
  3. In the Convert Files to SNAGX dialog, select Convert Now.
    Convert Files dialog on Mac
  4. Snagit displays a message when file conversion is complete. Click OK to dismiss the message.
    Conversion completed dialog on Mac

Delete Backup Files

During conversion Snagit saves backup copies in the old file format to use in previous versions of Snagit. If you will only use Snagit 2022 and you need to save space, delete the folder with the backup copies.

IMPORTANT
Do not delete SNAG or SNAGPROJ files if you are using Snagit 2022 as a trial or plan to revert to an older version of Snagit. Older versions require SNAG (Windows) or SNAGPROJ (Mac) files to view and edit your captures. Snagit cannot recover deleted files.
Windows

SNAG files are saved in the DataStore folder, typically at C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\TechSmith\Snagit.

  1. Open File Explorer in the Windows taskbar.
    File Explorer in Windows taskbar
  2. Navigate to the DataStore folder.
  3. Click to select the DataStore folder, then right-click and select Delete.

 

Mac

SNAGPROJ files are saved in the "library-conversion-backup" folder in the same location as your Snagit Library, typically in the Pictures directory.

  1. Open Finder.
    Mac Finder
  2. Navigate to the "library-conversion-backup" folder.
  3. Control+click the backup folder and select Move to Trash.